With school starting, I don’t have Great Expectations for my TBR (to be read) shelf this month. According to Goodreads, I only read 3 books last September- 1 book being for school. With that said, I want to do better this year. Here’s my September TBR!

 

Wonder Woman

Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo

I have been waiting to read this novel for months especially after watching Wonder Woman (twice!) in theaters. This is the first Leigh Bardugo book I’ve picked up and I definitely see myself reading the Grisha trilogy and Six of Crows duology soon. I plan to make Warbringer part of my night time routine even though it will probably ruin my sleep schedule. I’ve suffered too many nights where I’ve stayed up reading a book. With that said though, I never regret it.

 

 

the hazel wood

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert (coming Jan 2018)

I was extremely lucky to receive an uncorrected manuscript of this novel and I’ve been reading it for a couple of weeks now. The world-building is so wonderfully complex and mind-boggling that I wanted to take some time to take it all in. I typically read realistic/historical fiction so jumping into this fantasy was exciting. I can’t wait to reach The Hazel Wood’s conclusion this month.

 

 

 

Miles Morales

Miles Morales by Jason Reynolds

Similar to Wonder Woman: Warbringer, Miles Morales is a novel featuring a superhero, Spider-Man. Though I can’t quite call myself an avid comic book reader, I love superhero stories. Whether it’s in a film, a comic, or a novel – action-packed storylines always excite me. I’m especially hopeful for this new Spider-Man after reading the Ms. Marvel comics. What I love about these new stories is that they show that a hero is not defined by color.

 

 

 

This Mortal Coil

This Mortal Coil (coming Nov 2017)

I was hooked by this novel’s sci-fi description and I am so grateful that I had the opportunity to receive an advance copy of this novel. It raises questions about bioethics in a world where humans have the ability to reprogram themselves by recoding their DNA. From its description, this novel combines my love for biology with a thrilling adventure. The protagonist’s name is even Catarina Agatta (A reference to the nitrogenous bases that form DNA; A = adenine, G = guanine, T = thymine C = cytosine); it can’t get any nerdier than that! 

 

Have you read any of these books? I’d love to hear your thoughts! What books do you want to read this month?