This has been the best year of my life. I never expected to feel this amount of love, respect, and appreciation—I never thought it was possible to feel so much gratitude in  one year. I am so lucky.

I graduate high school in less than 3 weeks, and I can’t tell you how excited and sad that I am.

This past year I:

  1. fell in (and out) of love
  2. went to my first concert (LÉON, my favorite singer, toured North America this year!!)
  3. attended my first (and last) high school prom
  4. enrolled in college (as a Cognitive Science major)
  5. traveled across state lines to explore Providence, Rhode Island
  6. ate so much sushi in one-sitting that I couldn’t move
  7. got matching (temporary) tattoos with my friends
  8. helped paint window trims at my sister’s new house

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

With these experiences, exams, and college applications going on this year, I sadly neglected this site. I can proudly say, however, that I never stopped reading. The most recent book that I just finished this past week was The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. There’s something about English humor that I absolutely love—is it the dryness, sarcastic tone? the irony of their politeness? I’ll never know. All I can say is that it never fails to make me laugh. I also must add that I don’t typically enjoy epistolary novels because I think it’s hard to establish characters solely through other people’s descriptions. However, this novel smartly compiles letters written from multiple characters so that the reader can “piece together” profiles of the story’s characters. It’s much less confusing than I am describing it, I promise! All in all, this was one of my favorite historical fiction novels because it touches upon love, adventure, heroism, and literature.

Anyways, the reason why I revisited this blog after a full year on hiatus is because…I missed writing. I’ve been writing monthly book reviews for Barnes and Noble’s Teen Blog, but I missed being able to weave my life into my posts. I missed managing my own content. Most of all, I missed interacting with other readers. So here I am, back and ready to write wherever and whenever. Hope to see you here again soon!

 

Love,

N